These are my current and forthcoming books

Standalone Literary Fantasy

Lady Isabel and the Elf Knight

“The Devil always begins by giving thee work that is just,” Horrocks said. “Then he tells thee, thou dost just work, therefore thou art just. And then he tells thee, thou art just, and therefore any work thou dost is just.”

When Isabel kills the Elf Knight and takes his horse, sword, and horn, she believes that she has done just work. She has broken his enchantment and has rid the twelve kingdoms of a great evil. Horrocks’ advice to lay down the Elf Knight’s tools falls on deaf ears.

But something old is waking in Isabel, something that longs for the gallop and the chase, for bright sun and the rush of wind against the cheek, for glimmering steel and bright blood and the dying of light in the eyes of the slain.

Without the Elf Knight’s sword at her side, Isabel feels lost and terrified, but after almost murdering the man she is supposed to marry, she realizes that either she must put the Elf Knight’s tools aside or exile herself forever. But already it may be too late, for Isabel is losing herself and within her the Elf Maiden grows in strength and fury.

Cover of Lady Isabel and the Elf Knight

Ongoing Series Of

Cuthbert's People

The great Viking raid on Lindisfarne in 793 disrupted the lives and hopes of many people, both English and Norse. Cuthbert’s people traces its impact on the lives of one thegn’s family in the small coastal village of Twyford, a day’s ride south of Lindisfarne. Edith was born a slave but seduced and married a thegn’s son and became lady of the manor. Her ambitions for her daughters go even higher and Elswyth, her eldest, is engaged to the son of an ealdorman and to host kings at her table. But Elswyth, who attracts affection from all who meet her, has a wistful heart, a love of the sea, and a dream of travelling to Spain. Hilda, the next eldest, is quickly becoming the finest needlewoman in Northumbria. Hilda asks nothing of life but to be left alone with her needle. But when Elswyth’s wistful heart leads her astray, Edith transfers all of her ambitions and her plans to her second daughter. Meanwhile, Elswyth receives all her wistful heart wished for, but in a way that leads to the bitterest regret. The three women will find themselves tangled in the affairs of kings, abbesses, and Vikings, but Edith’s daughters, each in the own way, will find a way to hold their own. 

The Wistful and the Good
Saint Agnes and the Selkie
The Needle of Avocation
Watch for the next book in the series.
Scroll to Top